Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

The Inventors and the Lost Island

The Inventors and the Lost Island

Get ready for heart-pounding action, mystery, and hijinks in the thrilling sequel to The Inventors at No. 8!

Things are finally looking up for George, the 3rd Lord of Devonshire. Not only did he and his friends outwit a nefarious criminal organization, the extremely rare (and extremely valuable) mushrooms growing in his attic ensure he’ll never need money again. After years of misery, George is no longer the unluckiest boy in London. Nothing could go wrong…

Until Don Nadie, the leader of the Society of Nobodies, moves in next door with his sights set on George…and everything goes wrong.

Overnight, George finds himself framed for poisoning the king (a crime he most assuredly did not commit) and once again on the run with his best friend Ada Byron, the future Countess of Lovelace. Together, they must navigate the high seas in Ada’s latest invention, a submersible mechanical whale, all while trying to stay one step ahead of their enemies. Chased to the ends of the earth, it’s up to George, Ada, and their friends to clear the Devonshire name-and maybe even save the world.

In this rollicking sequel, author A.M. Morgen raises the stakes and delivers a humor- and heart-filled story sure to appeal to fans of The Mysterious Benedict Society and The Inquisitor’s Tale.

Read More

Genre: Children's Books / Juvenile Fiction / Action & Adventure / Pirates

On Sale: April 2nd 2019

Price: $16.99 / $22.49 (CAD)

Page Count: 384

ISBN-13: 9780316471534

What's Inside

Read More Read Less

Reader Reviews

Praise

Praise for The Inventors and the Lost Island:
"Morgen's jam-packed plot is well-focused and filled with excitement and humor...Swashbuckling fun."—Kirkus Reviews
Read More Arrow Icon
Praise for The Inventors at No. 8:
"Hidden motives and eccentric characters abound in this rollicking adventure."—WSJ
Read More Arrow Icon
"Electrifying, whimsical, and wry, The Inventors at No. 8 is an unmissable adventure for all the future inventresses in your life!"—Sam Maggs, author of Wonder Women and The Fangirl's Guide to the Galaxy
Read More Arrow Icon
"The breathless plot is jam-packed with roguish thieves, tantalizing clues, and mild intrigue, and the narrative is filled with wry humor and kindness as George gradually gives up his self-centered sense of doom. A pleasing adventure."
Kirkus Reviews
Read More Arrow Icon
"Morgen pulls off some handy misdirection in her fast-paced debut, and the combination of comical antics, miraculous machines, and a historical setting adds to the appeal."—Booklist
Read More Arrow Icon
"This raucous adventure keeps a frenetic pace...A great inclusion in STEM-focused fiction collections."—School Library Journal
Read More Arrow Icon
"This jolly romp has plenty of twists and turns, with anchoring themes of family, friendship, and learning to fight for what you love."—The Cleveland Plain Dealer
Read More Arrow Icon
"Plenty of hijinks...to please middle-grade adventure readers and lure them back for a second volume."—BCCB
Read More Arrow Icon