Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group’s updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

Love & Other Carnivorous Plants

Love & Other Carnivorous Plants

This darkly funny debut for fans of Sarah Dessen and John Green about a teen consumed by love, grief, and the many-tentacled beast of self-destructive behavior is “a must-have sharp, powerful, and witty immersion into the complexities of sexual identity and mental health” (SLJ).

Freshman year at Harvard was the most anticlimactic year of Danny’s life. She’s failing pre-med and drifting apart from her best friend. One by one, Danny is losing all the underpinnings of her identity. When she finds herself attracted to an older, edgy girl who she met in rehab for an eating disorder, she finally feels like she might be finding a new sense of self. But when tragedy strikes, her self-destructive tendencies come back to haunt her as she struggles to discover who that self really is. With a starkly memorable voice that’s at turns hilarious and heartbreaking, Love and Other Carnivorous Plants brilliantly captures the painful turning point between an adolescence that’s slipping away and the overwhelming uncertainty of the future.
Read More

Genre: Teen & Young Adult / Young Adult Fiction / Social Themes / Eating Disorders & Body Image

On Sale: May 15th 2018

Price: $9.99 / $12.99 (CDN)

Page Count: 352

ISBN-13: 9780316436694

What's Inside

Read More Read Less

Praise

*"A pitch-perfect take on what happens when the future you imagined doesn't live up to expectations.... This genuinely funny novel about some harrowing topics manages to balance humor and pathos perfectly. Readers who connected with J.J. Johnson's Believarexic or Sam J. Miller's The Art of Starving will want this book, as well as the many John Green fans who crave intelligent stories that occupy both shadow and light."
Booklist, starred review
Read More Arrow Icon
"Fans of Sarah Dessen will appreciate Danny's relatable and realistic journey. A must-have sharp, powerful, and witty immersion into the complexities of sexual identity and mental health."—School Library Journal
Read More Arrow Icon
"Gonsalves juggles multiple serious adolescent challenges with operatic verve--eating disorders, substance abuse, sexual awakening and orientation, mental health, grief... A feel-good debut sure to interest teens looking to feel better about not feeling so great."
Kirkus
Read More Arrow Icon
"Gonsalves realistically conveys Danny's wide range of emotions... Her most profound realization comes through accepting that she can live her life on her own terms and that she need not have it all figured out quite yet."—Publishers Weekly
Read More Arrow Icon
"Self-deprecating, witty.... As funny as it is painful."
VOYA
Read More Arrow Icon
"A hilarious, thoughtful novel of trying to figure out loving other people when it hurts, and loving yourself when it's impossible."—Teenreads.com
Read More Arrow Icon
"Will appeal to students who deal with anxiety and the pressures of life that many teens face."—School Library Connection
Read More Arrow Icon