Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

What We Found in the Corn Maze and How It Saved a Dragon

What We Found in the Corn Maze and How It Saved a Dragon

When three kids discover a book of magic spells that can only be cast during a few short minutes a day, they’ll need all the time they can get to save a dying magical world, its last dragon, and themselves.

An ordinary day turns extraordinary when twelve-year-old Cal witnesses his neighbor Modesty summon a slew of lost coins without lifting a finger. Turns out she has a secret manual of magic spells . . . but they only work sometimes. And they’re the most boring spells ever: To Change the Color of a Room, To Repair a Chimney, To Walk With Stilts, To Untangle Yarn. Useless!

But when Cal, his friend Drew, and Modesty are suddenly transported to the world the spells come from — a world that’s about to lose its last dragon — they’ll have to find a way to use the oddly specific incantations to save the day, if only they can figure out when magic works.

From the inventive mind of Henry Clark comes a hilariously wacky adventure about magic, friendship, a lookout tower come to life, a maze in the shape of a dragon, an actual dragon named Phlogiston, and lots and lots of popcorn.
Read More

Genre: Children's Books / Juvenile Fiction / Humorous Stories

On Sale: May 5th 2020

Price: $9.99 / $12.99 (CAD)

Page Count: 352

ISBN-13: 9780316492348

What's Inside

Read More Read Less

Reader Reviews

Praise

Praise for What We Found in the Corn Maze and How It Saved a Dragon:

The Washington Post's KidsPost Summer Book Club 2020
* "Tongue firmly in cheek, Clark propels his squabbling eco-crusaders through a rush of misadventures that test their credibility as well as ingenuity.... Another romp."—Booklist, starred review
"A good choice for fans of The Phantom Tollbooth and The Westing Game and Chris Grabenstein's Mr. Lemoncello books.... A smart kid's goofball adventure."—Kirkus Reviews
"There's something for everyone here: dragons, golems, political intrigue, environmental concern, library- and bathroom-related humor galore...and three strong, smart kids...who fight hard to right a terrible wrong."—School Library Journal
"This adventure shows what you can accomplish with teamwork. If you enjoyed the classic The Phantom Tollbooth, you will like this tale."
The Week Junior
Praise for What We Found in the Sofa and How It Saved the World:
An ABA Fall Picks New Voices Book
An ABC Best Book for Children
An Amazon Best Book of the Month
A Junior Library Guild Selection
A Black-Eyed Susan Book Award Master List Title
A Sakura Medal Nominee
"Clark's debut is refreshingly bonkers. It offers thinking kids humor that is neither afraid of the potty nor confined to it. Most of the characters (and some of the furniture) have their quirks, but there is a realism at the core that readers will respond to."—Kirkus Reviews
"Fast paced and entertaining...an exciting, suspenseful adventure with many unexpected twists."—School Library Journal
"The novel's swift pace create[s] unyielding suspense.... For those destined to become Douglas Adams fans it will be hilarious and gripping."—Publishers Weekly
"Will make budding science fiction fans feel like they've been welcomed into a circle of friends for this whirlwind adventure."—The Bulletin
Read More Read Less