A clever and thought-provoking mystery that pays homage to classic Nancy Drew stories, perfect for fans of Wendy Mass and Trenton Lee Stewart. 

Maizy always assumed she knew everything about her grandmother, Jacuzzi. So when a box full of vintage Nancy Drew books gets left at her mom’s thrift store, Maizy is surprised to find an old photo of her grandmother and two other women tucked beneath the collection. Stranger still, when Maizy shows the photo to Jacuzzi she feigns ignorance, insisting the woman is someone else. Determined to learn the truth — and inspired by the legacy of Nancy Drew — Maizy launches her own investigation with the help of new friends, Nell and Cam. What they discover not only points to the origins of the iconic series, but uncovers a truth from the past that will lead to self-discovery in the present, connecting three generations of women.  

This intergenerational mystery filled with literary history, friendship, and family secrets delivers a captivating tribute to the world’s most famous girl detective. 

What's Inside

Read More Read Less

Praise

Praise and honors for the Book Scavenger series:

New York Times Bestseller (for 5 weeks)
Bank Street College Best Book of the Year 
NCTE Notable Children’s Book in the Language Arts
Indie Next Kids’ #6 pick (Summer 2015)
ABA Indies Introduce New Voices Finalist 
An Amazon Best Book of the Year
Junior Library Guild selection, 2015
Publishers Weekly Best Book for Summer
SF Gate Summer Reads Recommendation, 2015
Cybils Middle Grade Fiction Finalist, 2015
SCBWI Crystal Kite Award Finalist, 2016
Colorado Book Award Finalist, 2016
Georgia Children’s Book Award Finalist, 2016-2017
Maryland Black Eyed Susan Award Nominee, 2016-2017
Massachusetts Children’s Book Award Nominee, 2016-2017
Pennsylvania Young Reader’s Choice Award Nominee, 2016-2017
Triple Crown Lamplighter Book Award Winner, 2016-2017
Utah Educational Library Media Association Award Master List Selection, 2016
Jr Tome Society and Club Tome It List Nominee, 2016-2017
Indiana Young Hoosier Book Award Nominee, 2017-2018
Louisiana Young Readers Choice Award Nominee, 2017-2018
Missouri Mark Twain Award Nominee, 2017-2018
Nebraska Golden Sower Award Finalist, 2017-2018
North Carolina Young Adult Book Award Nominee, 2017-2018
Connecticut Nutmeg Book Award Nominee, 2018
Illinois Rebecca Caudill Young Reader’s Book Award Nominee, 2017-2018
Illinois Bluestem Book Award Nominee, 2017-2018
Utah Beehive Award Nominee, 2018
Mississippi Magnolia Children’s Choice Book Award Nominee, 2018
Rhode Island Middle School Book Award Nominee, 2018
Tennessee Volunteer State Book Award Nominee, 2018
Washington Library Association Sasquatch Book Award Nominee, 2018
Oregon Battle of the Books selection 2018-2019
Minnesota Youth Reading Award Nominee 2018-2019
Hawaii Nene Book Award Nominee, 2018
West Australian Young Readers Book Award Nominee, 2019

* “Full of heart and replete with challenging ciphers for readers to decode, Bertman's debut is literary cousin to classic puzzlers like The Westing Game, and a story that values books and reading above other pursuits.”—Publishers Weekly, starred review on Book Scavenger
* “In her first novel, Jennifer Chambliss Bertman introduces a smart, resourceful 12-year-old who makes her first true friend through a mutual passion for solving puzzles.... Fans of Escape from Mr. Lemoncello's Library will appreciate the abundant literary allusions, and readers will hope for more adventures, hinted at in the book's final lines.”—Shelf Awareness, starred review on Book Scavenger
“Sprinkled with ciphers, San Francisco landmarks, and literary allusions, Book Scavenger is a fun, light, implausible adventure.... This will appeal to fans of Blue Balliett's art-world mysteries.”—School Library Journal on Book Scavenger
“Well paced and involving, the story will intrigue kids with an interest in mysteries and codes as well as books. The writing includes references to local landmarks as well as literary allusions to Jack Kerouac, Robert Louis Stevenson, and, especially, Edgar Allan Poe. A lively first novel.”—Booklist on Book Scavenger
"Brisk, bookish good fun for puzzle and code lovers."—Kirkus Reviews on The Unbreakable Code
"A successful sequel . . . Readers who loved the first volume will find this follow-up even more satisfying."—School Library Journal on The Unbreakable Code
Read More Read Less