We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

When

When

Maddie Fynn is a shy high school junior cursed with an eerie intuitive ability that’s out of her control — one that entangles her in a homicide investigation.

For as long as she can remember, Maddie has seen a series of unique digits hovering above the foreheads of each person she encounters. Her earliest memories are marked by these numbers, but it takes her father’s premature death for Maddie and her family to realize that these mysterious digits are actually deathdates, and just like birthdays, everyone has one.

Forced by her alcoholic mother to use her ability to make extra money, Maddie identifies the quickly approaching deathdate of one client’s young son, but because her ability only allows her to see the when and not the how, she’s unable to offer any more insight. When the boy goes missing on that exact date, law enforcement turns to Maddie.

Soon, Maddie is entangled in a homicide investigation, and more young people disappear and are later found murdered. A suspect for the investigation, a target for the murderer, and attracting the attentions of a mysterious young admirer who may be connected to it all, Maddie’s whole existence is about to be turned upside down. Can she right things before it’s too late?
Read More

Texas Lone Star Reading List, 2016

Genre: Teen & Young Adult / Young Adult Fiction / Thrillers & Suspense

On Sale: September 6th 2016

Price: $9.99 / $10.99 (CAD)

Page Count: 336

ISBN-13: 9781484701492

What's Inside

Read More Read Less

Reader Reviews

Praise

"Laurie's debut for teens is quite an accomplishment...The character development is just as riveting as the plot in this well-constructed thriller."—Kirkus Reviews
"The novel packs in plenty of fast-paced, nail-biting fun, perfect for fans of Barnes' The Naturals series."—Bulletin for the Center of Children's Books
"This excellent book is a must-have for all libraries, especially where suspense and teen-life fiction is hot. This novel will provide crossover appeal to both older teens and adults."—VOYA
Read More Read Less